When it comes to sales tax nexus updates, Wyoming was ahead of the curve. The Cowboy State passed rules requiring remote sellers to collect and remit sales tax even before the Supreme Court’s South Dakota v. Wayfair, Inc. decision. However, Wyoming had to stay implementation of those rules until the Court made its ruling. Below we have highlighted key points in the Wyoming sales tax nexus.
February 1, 2019.
$100,000 or 200 transactions.
Threshold applies to the previous or current calendar year.
Retail sales of tangible personal property delivered into the state.
When You Need to Register Once You Exceed the Threshold:
Summary: According to state law, remote sellers must collect Wyoming sales tax when their gross revenue from sales into Wyoming exceeds $100,000 or they made 200 or more separate transactions for delivery into the state in the current or immediately preceding calendar year. Marketplace facilitators must also collect Wyoming sales tax when their gross revenue from sales made or facilitated into Wyoming exceeds $100,000 or they made or facilitated 200 or more separate transactions for delivery into the state.
Even with Wyoming implementing economic nexus law fairly in line with Wayfair, remote sellers and marketplace facilitators must ensure that they stay current on all regulations related to sales tax.
Wyoming Sales Tax Resources: For more information on Wyoming sales tax nexus updates, reach out to our team of experts. Additionally, swing by our interactive sales tax nexus map for the latest changes on every state.