China: Expansion of the fully digitalized e-invoicing pilot program

Marta Sowińska
February 16, 2023

China is expanding its fully digitalized e-invoicing (e-fapiao) pilot program, currently as of 1 January 2023 in scope to issue a fully digitalized e-fapiao are Shanghai, Guangdong, Inner Mongolia, Sichuan, Xiamen, Chongqing, Qingdao, Tianjin, Dalian, and Shaanxi provinces. Additionally, taxpayers nationwide are able to accept e-fapiao issued by the selected taxpayers in the above provinces.

The latest provinces that have joined the pilot program:

  • Sichuan has joined the pilot program on 28 October 2022; the selected taxpayers in this region can issue e-fapiao on the Sichuan e-invoice service platform.
  • Xiamen has joined the pilot program on 30 November 2022, with the selected taxpayers being able to issue digitalized e-fapiao.
  • In Shanghai starting from 20 January 2023, the newly registered taxpayers were included in the pilot program, hence they will not need to use special or ordinary VAT e-invoices, from the date they will be part of the fully digitalized e-fapiao program.
  • Lastly from 28 January 2023, the Chongqing, Qingdao, Dalian, Tianjin and Shaanxi provinces with their selected taxpayers were added to the pilot program.

These developments and expansion of the program entails that the plans to introduce a nationwide e-invoicing in China might be accomplished by 2025.

More about the fully digitized e-invoicing pilot program: China Introduces Fully Digitized E-Invoice with New Pilot Program | Sovos

Sign up for Email Updates

Stay up to date with the latest tax and compliance updates that may impact your business.


Marta Sowińska

Marta Sowińska is a Junior Regulatory Counsel at Sovos. Based in Lisbon and originally from Poland, Marta earned a Bachelor’s degree in International and European Law from the Hague University of Applied Sciences in the Netherlands and has studied at the Beijing Normal University in China.
Share This Post