Oregon Passes Paid Family Leave Law

Paul Ogawa
July 8, 2019

Oregon recently passed a sweeping paid family leave law which would give paid time off to those responsible for the care of sick family members or themselves. House Bill 2005 was signed into law on July 1, 2019, and would provide paid leave benefits to new parents, victims of domestic violence, and those charged with the care of sick family members or themselves.

Under the new law, eligible workers would be allowed 12 weeks of paid leave to deal with family, medical, or domestic violence issues. Additional leave of two weeks would be afforded to those women who experience complications relating to pregnancy, and lower wage workers (those who earn 65% or less of the average state weekly wage) would receive 100% wage replacement capped at $1,215. One of the only bars to eligibility would be accumulated yearly wages: an eligible worker must earn at least $1,000 in wages a year to qualify, which represents one of the lowest bars to entry in the country.

Reporting requirements and instructions are not available at this time.

To review the full text of the bill, please click here.

Sign up for Email Updates

Stay up to date with the latest tax and compliance updates that may impact your business.


Paul Ogawa

Paul Ogawa is a Senior Regulatory Counsel at Sovos Compliance. As part of the Regulatory Analysis team, his main areas of focus are state and federal tax withholding, the Affordable Care Act (ACA), and Canadian tax information reporting. Prior to Sovos, Paul worked as a litigation attorney in Boston area law firms, representing clients in insurance subrogation claims, family law matters, and employment disputes. Paul is a member of the Massachusetts Bar, earned his B.A. from Brandeis University and his J.D. from the Suffolk University Law School.
Share This Post