Alaska Cities Enact Uniform Remote Seller Sale Tax Code

Alex Samuel
February 27, 2020

Eight local governments in Alaska have enacted ordinances implementing the Alaska Remote Seller Sales Tax Commission’s Uniform Sales Tax Code. They include: Juneau, Wasilla, Kenai Peninsula Borough, Kenai, Seward, Soldotna, Homer and Seldovia.

Remote sellers and marketplace facilitators doing business in these locations are required to collect and remit sales tax if their statewide gross sales delivered into Alaska within the previous calendar year meets or exceeds $100,000 or they complete 200 or more transactions.

The Commission has established a 30 day grace period for impacted sellers. For these eight localities, this means that sellers have until April 1, 2020 to comply.

More localities are sure to follow the lead of these 8 pioneers.

Additional information may also be found on the Commission’s website:

Sign up for Email Updates

Stay up to date with the latest tax and compliance updates that may impact your business.


Alex Samuel

Alex Samuel is a Junior Regulatory Counsel at Sovos Compliance. Within Sovos’ Regulatory Analysis function, Alex focuses on enterprise sales tax issues arising in various domestic and international jurisdictions. Prior to Sovos, Alex worked as an attorney at New Hampshire Legal Assistance. Alex is a member of the New Hampshire and Massachusetts Bars, earned his B.S. from the University of Minnesota and his J.D./LL.M from the University of New Hampshire School of Law.
Share This Post